Gaining Confidence

by jeanineoloughlin

Thinking Through My Fingers

“Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers.” – Issac Asimov

When I was first trying to create this  blog I had a lot of anxiety about whether people would like what content I was producing, if I would get any kind of readership, or how I was going to battle the horrible multi-headed troll monster. It was a very intimidating prospect and it took a lot of support and blind gumption to click that publish button. It wasn’t until several months after my first posts that I really felt any kind of confidence in posting my material, whether creative pieces or “blerbs” like this.

I write because it’s something I enjoy, and I post it on a blog because it motivates me to keep writing. So, I have to keep reminding myself that I do this for me and no one else. Not everyone will like what I write and they have the choice to ignore my pieces and they have the choice to voice their opinion. I can respect that and knowing that what I’m doing is something I enjoy happily ignore their opinion as they can happily ignore my blog. So no matter what you’re doing whether a blog, a YouTube video, or just voicing your opinion on Reddit it doesn’t matter what other people think. What matters is what you think and how you feel about what you’re doing…

So, don’t feed the trolls and Happy Writing!

