The Importance of a Support Group

by jeanineoloughlin

Thinking Through My Fingers

“Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers.” – Issac Asimov

As an amateur writer working a full-time day job having a strong support group for my work has been a huge factor in continuing what I’m doing here. Without my friends and family who support and encourage me I don’t think I would have ever created a blog or finished the pieces that I have. I’m not as consistent with my writing as I would like to be, but with my support group I keep moving forward slowly but surely and get to share these pieces with you.

As any artist you hit highs and lows and I think as social creatures we need to be able to share those moments with others. When I hit a mental block or have trouble working out a tricky plot element I need someone there to help encourage me, provide feedback, or just hand me a cup of tea and say it’ll be alright. I’m lucky enough to have one of those people living in my house, and ready to help when I come screaming down the stairs that everything is horrible. Though as a boyfriend that’s kind of the required job description. 🙂

I’ve mentioned this group before but my tiny group of alpha readers are among some of my top supporters. After each story they’re ready to hop into it and give me notes and feedback with me biting my nails the whole time on the other side of the screen. When I was first working on content for this blog I wasn’t sure if my work was really worth putting out there for others, but this wonderful group of friends kept me moving forward and I don’t’ think any of this would have happened without them. So I think if you’re a writer working through your own doubts, blocks and plot twists having a warm and loving support group is the biggest motivation you could ever have.

Happy Writing!

