How Do I Get Past Writer’s Block?

by jeanineoloughlin

Thinking Through My Fingers

“Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers.” – Issac Asimov

Every writer has to deal with writer’s block. It’s that time when you sit down to write and your mind just goes blank. I hit writer’s block a lot and for me it comes from having these insane expectations that I’m going to sit down and write this amazing piece right there that minute. No one puts pressure on me like myself and I’ve worked on developing a writing process over the past year that keeps me in check. So when I hit writer’s block I have a few tricks to get myself to put pen to paper.

First trick – I read through the outlines. Sometimes just reminding myself of the story helps me get into what I’m working on and move forward.

Second trick – If the outlines don’t help then I move onto journal writing. Sometimes I just have to get whatever is on my mind out so my mind can focus on being creative rather than whatever else my brain is thinking about. It also gets me in the writing mood just through the act of writing.

Third trick – I just write. It doesn’t matter how terrible or bland or uninspired the writing is I just go through the outline and write the narrative. It just gets on paper and I can rework it in the edit phases.

When it comes to writer’s block you have to do whatever you can to just get in the right head space and get those words to paper. Even if every word feels like you’re fighting against the tide to bring it out just get through it and you can massage it into greatness later.

Happy Writing!

