Why Do I Write?

by jeanineoloughlin

Thinking Through My Fingers

“Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers.” – Isaac Asimov

Welcome to the first installment of Thinking Through My Fingers! This will be my first blog, and really the first time I’ll be publishing any of my work to the public so while we go along on this rocky adventure I hope that you all can bear with me. Well, let’s get started.

Why do I write?

I don’t remember exactly when I started writing, as early as grade school at least. However, ever since I was a toddler I had a passion for books, reading and stories. By middle school being a writer was definitely something I thought about. Then by sophomore year of high school I knew that writing was what I wanted to do.

I don’t know if this is true for everyone, but for me when inspiration or an idea hits me it feels like a spark that’s been lit inside me fighting to get out. It’s exciting to create something and see it take form. At the same time it’s extremely frustrating to hit a creative wall and be stuck. Writing is energizing, cathartic, and fulfilling. No matter how terrible it is, seeing a completed piece always gives me a sense of accomplishment. Getting the piece finished and on paper is always the hardest part for me, so when I can get it done it makes me want to get up and dance around.

When I was younger I defined success as becoming rich and famous author, though the idea of fame has always left a sour taste in my mouth. In trying to pursue a stable career and the good salary that came with that career my writing took a backseat to my career. However, as I got older, and wiser, I realized that success is defined by how happy you are in life. While being happy is much more complicated than it appears writing always made me happy. So, here I am, writing not for fame or fortune but for me. Should my writing become a new career I can support myself with then all the better, but if not I can be content putting my words to paper for myself.

If I’m only writing for myself then why publish my work? Why create this blog? Well, there’s no harm in trying is there? I have a good career and I enjoy my day job, but if I could make a living as a writer that would be the ultimate goal. If I don’t try then I will never get there. If I try, and fail all I lose is a little pride, and I can live with that. So, here I am putting myself and my work out there. Some people may like it, some may not, but I’m not here for them. I’m here for me.

So why do I write? I write for me, I write because it makes me happy, and I write because I won’t know until I try.

Happy Writing!

